PDA

View Full Version : Funny thing...



CocaColaJohn
Aug 17, 2008, 07:41 PM
I can't get SourceOP to work ANY way I try it. I've read the installation tutorial for it... But either way I try, auto or manual install, it just won't work. I really need help with this for my RP server. Without money and what-not it just isn't any good. Help would be really appreciated. :lol:

Drunken F00l
Aug 18, 2008, 03:23 AM
You aren't trying to install it on to TF2 are you? The TF2/Orangebox version of SourceOP is not yet released.

Hell-met
Aug 18, 2008, 01:44 PM
He mentionned RP.

Roleplay is surely for either HL2DM or Gmod.

Drunken F00l
Aug 18, 2008, 02:41 PM
That's what I figured, but I still need more details. If he's trying to install it to Gmod 10, it's not going to work either.

CocaColaJohn
Aug 18, 2008, 02:45 PM
I'm trying to get it to work for HL2DM. I've tried everything. It just wont work >.>

Also, can you tell me the exact folders to place everything when doing the manual install? Because the install help on this site didn't help me much, it sorta confused me a bit ..

Drunken F00l
Aug 18, 2008, 02:52 PM
Would you please elaborate?

I need to know more things, like:
Dedicated server? Separate install?
Are you running windows or linux?
Over FTP or doing it locally?
What's not working?
Does it crash or just not load?
Do you get any messages saying it's loading in the console?

CocaColaJohn
Aug 18, 2008, 03:17 PM
It's a Source Dedicated Server.
I'm running Windows (dunno why >.<)
Do you mean over Internet or LAN? Internet
Everything.
Nothing works.
My game plays like it did before the install.

Drunken F00l
Aug 18, 2008, 03:23 PM
Phrases like "everything" and "nothing works" are not helpful.

Something like "srcds loads but SourceOP is not loaded and when I run "plugin_print" it doesn't list SourceOP" is much more helpful. That reminds me, what does it say when you type "plugin_print" in the dedicated server console?

When I asked "Over FTP or doing it locally?" I meant "Are you trying to install over FTP or are you installing it on a machine that you have physical access to?"

Also, I asked if you were running a separate install of srcds or if you are using the one included with Steam.

CocaColaJohn
Aug 18, 2008, 09:50 PM
Ok... I have tried installing it by manually putting the files in the folders (and I don't think I put them in the correct ones), and I've tried the auto install. I am using the Dedicated Server that comes with Steam. I am having physical access to the computer running the server. I am not real sure about how to work this anyway. The install instructions were like a whole new language, telling me to put it in the such and such folder, and putting this there and what-not. The folders it described weren't matching anything I've even used.

So right now my main problem is this. I've installed it both ways, and have run my server afterwards, but it just doesn't work. There is no spawning, no nothing. Either way I install it, It won't work. I would like to know if there are a few extra steps to this that I'm missing.

Drunken F00l
Aug 19, 2008, 01:22 AM
There is no spawning, no nothing.
Even if SourceOP is running, you have to add yourself as admin before you can do that.

Have you tried typing plugin_print in the server's console? Can you tell me what it says after you type that command?

Using the automated installer, selecting the "Dedicated Server: Half-Life 2 Deathmatch" option should work perfectly for you. If it's not "working," my bet is you just don't know how to add admins and use the admin commands.

CocaColaJohn
Aug 19, 2008, 02:00 PM
How would I add myself as an admin?

I did plugin_print, and sourceop did show up (thankfully)

What "Dedicated Server: Half-Life 2 Deathmatch" option? I didn't see it...

That is 100% true too. I don't have any bit of an idea about how to do that. Since I can't find any help with it.

Hell-met
Aug 19, 2008, 02:11 PM
You install Dedicated Server.

CocaColaJohn
Aug 19, 2008, 02:54 PM
I have the dedicated server..

I just need to know what I need to do to make me admin to be able to spawn stuff, and to be able to give others admin too.

avy
Aug 19, 2008, 04:31 PM
http://www.sourceop.com/modules.php?name=Downloads&d_op=getit&lid=10

I am not an expert but I believe this is what you need since you didnt do the admintut command when your first ran sourceop (although you still might be able to do it)

CocaColaJohn
Aug 19, 2008, 05:12 PM
thanks avy!

Drunken F00l
Aug 19, 2008, 07:06 PM
Yes, you didn't follow the final step of the installation.


After you click finish, you will see a message box. It is telling you to run the admin tutorial after starting your server. You can run the tutorial by typing "admintut" in console. The tutorial will allow you to set yourself up with admin.

For adding admin, follow these instructions:
http://www.sourceop.com/wiki/Adding_Admins

CocaColaJohn
Aug 19, 2008, 07:07 PM
well... it didnt work for me. I've added myself to my DF_admin.txt and yet I still dont have admin.

Drunken F00l
Aug 19, 2008, 07:09 PM
Run the automated installer again. Make sure you select the correct option.

http://www.sourceop.com/w/images/b/bd/Setup3.jpg

You said sourceop shows up in the plugin_print list, but somehow I have a feeling you installed it to half-life 2 deathmatch itself, and not the dedicated server and also typed plugin_print in your local console and not the server console.

It is clear to me that you don't have a clear understanding of how to work dedicated servers. You do not read all the instructions and don't understand simple file operations and this is where all your problems stem from.

CocaColaJohn
Aug 20, 2008, 09:08 PM
Well I decided to make my own HL2DM RP server since the other ones are way out of control. I found out how to make the server work, but then decided I needed a plugin for some neat addons. So someone directed me in this way, and thought it was really cool. But I have no idea how to work it. Also, is that picture that you put up from the Automatic Installation?

Drunken F00l
Aug 21, 2008, 02:50 AM
Yes, it's from the automatic install. What else?

CocaColaJohn
Aug 22, 2008, 01:19 PM
Well.. The automated install won't work for me. It gives me some error. So I want to do the manual. Can you just tell me step by step how to do it? Where exactly to put the files? What I need to type to be an admin? And junk like that, please. Thats all I need.

avy
Aug 22, 2008, 02:32 PM
Seriously??????????????????????

Download this - http://www.sourceop.com/modules.php?name=Downloads&d_op=getit&lid=13

Read this - http://www.sourceop.com/wiki/Installing#Windows

Download the zip, extract to the right directories. Overwrite any files that you're prompted with. Start up the server, join the game and type admintut. Follow the onscreen directions.

And I'm sure DF will ask, but what error code are you getting with the automated install?

CocaColaJohn
Aug 22, 2008, 05:59 PM
I'll try that and get back to you on it, and if I get the message again, I will surely post it.

Drunken F00l
Aug 22, 2008, 08:54 PM
What avy is recommending is the manual installation. I don't think you will be able to follow the instructions given your apparent level of expertise.

If you tell me what the error message said for the automatic installer, I might be able to help you.

CocaColaJohn
Aug 23, 2008, 06:21 PM
Well would you look at that. My level of expertise has allowed me to complete the manual install. All I needed really was to be directed in the right place. Not be asked what error, when, how, why, and all that non-sense. But, you as the developer of SourceOP, may need to know these for any future fixes, I see that as reasonable. But yet once again, avy has really helped me here.

Now, my troubles aren't all over yet. I'm still trying to get it to work as I need it too. I have added a song to the radio. It shows up in the song list, the song is put in the proper directories. But it tells me something about how it hasn't found the loop.

Now I don't know if I'm in the right place to ask these questions, but... How do I get everyone unlimited stamina, how do I make the hook faster, how do I get spawning and deleting to work, and how would I be able to make money, and also able to allow players to give each other money?

Now I don't know if you have the answers for those, but why not ask?

SilverFox
Aug 23, 2008, 07:37 PM
Wow.

This thread is full of so much win ... I can hardly contain myself.

When debugging an issue, it's far more helpful to explain why something isn't working or how you are going about trying to get it to work.

Simply stating 'it broked' ... doesn't really help with trying to figure out what the problem is.

Also .. border line obnoxiousness and rudeness towards the person who made the program - and who, ultimately, is just trying to help, despite your desire to be difficult - is probably not the best way to go about getting help.

I mean seriously. "It gives me some error". What error? Why do you think there is only one possible error it can give everyone in the history of coding and that he'll automatically know what it is by reading your mind?

All Avy did was quote what DF said in a much ... uh ... simpler way. What did you think the "Seriously??????????????????????" was reference to?

Drunken F00l
Aug 24, 2008, 12:45 AM
I can't help you with the installation unless you tell me what the error is, but it sounds like you have got past that so I will answer your other questions.

I don't know what you mean by "unlimited stamina," but if you mean unlimited health, you're interested in the admin command "admin_god". If you want to make the hook pull players faster, you will want to adjust the server CVAR "DF_hook_speed". If you want to spawn props, use the command "e_spawnprop" and to delete entities use "e_kill". You can give out credits by using the "credgive" command. Players can use the credgive command to transfer their credits to other players. When admins use the credgive command, it just generates the money rather than transfer it (meaning admins don't give their own credits when transfering to players).

Perhaps you can answer these questions for yourself in the future by taking a look at these pages (and others) on the wiki:
http://www.sourceop.com/wiki/Server_CVARs
http://www.sourceop.com/wiki/Admin_Commands