PDA

View Full Version : Freezing in game



broken_condom
Jun 19, 2008, 08:16 AM
Hey guys, before I get to my complaint , wanted to tell you what a great server you run and our community plays on it quite a bit.
OK, A couple days ago, I started having a freezing problem on your server, I figured maybe it was my video card drivers, so I updated them, and tweaked my settings a little bit, came back, had the same issue.
So I decided to see if it was a problem on ALL servers or just this one in particular, I went to 5 different servers at random and not a single freeze or stall in the game.
The freeze issue Im having is, the game freezes for 3 seconds, just locks me in place unable to move anywhere, and unfortunatly that's enough time for a pyro or a heavy with really good aim to take me out like a sitting duck. :lol:
And it happens about every 4-5 minutes, I've heard others complain of a simalar issue, but that's on them to post or whatever.
I've run out of ideas or ways to fix this , any suggestions would be appreciated since you guys have one of the few decent servers in TF2 and as I said, my entire gaming community enjoys playing on them.

Thanks for your time, look forward to a reply. :wink:

Btw, the server we play on is
SourceOP.com TF2 24/7 2fort [NO MODS] [NO BS]
74.54.24.198
32 man.

blak
Jun 19, 2008, 12:27 PM
LLLLAAAGGGG
8O

Drunken F00l
Jun 19, 2008, 04:24 PM
Are you able to still look around or does everything actually lock?

broken_condom
Jun 19, 2008, 04:42 PM
Everything actually locks up, and as far as lag goes, it's not that.
I have dual screens , so I run a bandwith monitor when I'm playing, I don't see lag spikes or drops when it happens.
Just freezes on the server.
And my computer is connected to a dedicated line.
Hope that helps. :D

bankai
Nov 29, 2008, 02:45 PM
I'm having the same problem. Only on sourceop no mod server. I joined other servers just to see if it was my computer but it's only happening on sourceop.

When it freezes I can still look around but can't type, shoot, or respawn. I can hear people talking but can't see the typing.

Biggs
Nov 29, 2008, 03:37 PM
Happened to me last night on Valve maps #1 on 2fort like 5 minutes after 11 PM server time. But I'm pretty sure I got the "connection problem" up in the top right corner. I rocket jumped from the sniper deck to the top of the bridge and it locked up at the peak of my rocket jump. And like 3 or 4 seconds later I was down in the water in the very corner. I heard one other person on my team go "Whoa... what the hell was that?" immediately afterward.
But this has only occurred once for me, so I'm still not entirely sure that it wasn't on my end.

Drunken F00l
Nov 29, 2008, 11:51 PM
If you're still able to look around while it's frozen, it's a connection issue and not a video issue, which is why I asked the original poster. A connection issue seems more likely, but I'd like to know for sure, so if you see it again or remember more details, let me know.

OmegaZero_Alpha
Nov 30, 2008, 02:29 AM
sounds like lag spikes.

We don't need a thread for lag spikes, all DF can do is reset the server and bitch at his data center.

Drunken F00l
Nov 30, 2008, 11:24 AM
But I need to know if it is in fact lag spikes so I can commence bitching.

The complaints seem to have started ever since I updated SourceOP. It might be related, but probably not. I'll probably roll back to an older version and see if that helps any.

bankai
Nov 30, 2008, 01:00 PM
DF maybe there is something I need to update? I don't know I'm just thinking. You said you updated the server is there a patch or something I need?

I'll try out the Sourceop Goldrush no mod server again today and see if I still get the freezing.

Drunken F00l
Nov 30, 2008, 04:51 PM
No. If it's a connection issue and more than one person notices it, it's not you.

Nobody has confirmed whether or not it's a connection issue or if it's the game locking up.