PDA

View Full Version : SourceOP doesn't load



Fess
Oct 21, 2010, 03:00 PM
Hello.
I have a HL2DM Linux server and SourceOP simply doesn't load. I see this in the logs: Unable to load plugin "../bin/sourceop". It was ok before the update.
OS: Linux Fedora
What could be wrong? :(

PS. And - no. I don't have shell access.

Drunken F00l
Oct 21, 2010, 07:14 PM
Before what update? You'll need the Orangebox version.

Fess
Oct 22, 2010, 08:51 AM
I'm talking about the Orangebox version.


Before what update?

The Orangebox update.

Fess
Oct 22, 2010, 02:52 PM
Hmm, I think I know why it doesn't work. I have the same problem as here http://sourceop.net/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&t=3810

I typed in the server console 'meta load ../bin/sourceop' and it says
'Failed to load plugin ../bin/sourceop (libssl.so.6: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory).'

I don't really know what that means. Is it a server glitch or (I'd prefer this one) SourceOP bug. What shall I do with it?

Drunken F00l
Oct 22, 2010, 04:46 PM
The server needs libssl installed (openssl works) and libssl.so.6 linked to the version installed. Centos/rhel comes this way by default. Any other OS may need the link added manually.

Fess
Oct 26, 2010, 08:42 AM
I contacted my server support and they have just sent the answer. Here it is:
Hallo,

the libssl.so.6 is not even old (and so far insecure) but much older and up to date versions are not compatibly to older versions. We will not use that older versions of most likely insecure OS parts, no matter for what reason. If you have to use SourceOP, than ask the developers of SourceOP to use up to date sources..

My question is: Drunken Fool, can you do something with it? SourceOP is the most important plugin of my whole server. It's quite boring without it.

Drunken F00l
Oct 26, 2010, 07:42 PM
All they need to do is link libssl.so.6 to the version of libssl actually installed. They do not need to actually install anything.

Since everyone potentially has a different version installed, I cannot link to a specific one. The only think I could possibly do is statically link or dynamically search for the version installed and gather function pointers from it. Neither of these will be happening very soon.

You should convince your host to just link libssl.so.6 to whatever version is installed. They do not need to install any old version, so there will be no security issue here.

FrozenHaxor
Nov 18, 2010, 06:48 PM
The only think I could possibly do is statically link or dynamically search for the version installed and gather function pointers from it.
Please do soon! That would be great help :)