PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] SourceOP won't load on XP and e_kill



Ant_8490
Oct 03, 2010, 04:40 PM
I've used the previous version of SourceOP for a long time and have installed it many times. But for some reason, this time I can only get it to load the plugin for servers that are running on Windows Vista and Windows 7. For my Windows XP server, it just says: Unable to load plugin "..\bin\sourceop"

Also, e_kill is saying unknown command. Has that command been removed?

Thanks.

Drunken F00l
Oct 03, 2010, 04:58 PM
If SourceOP is not loading, e_kill will not work.

e_kill is also now implemented in Lua, so if you have disabled Lua it will not be there.

For your Windows XP server, you can try changing the VDF file to just have "sourceop" instead of "..\bin\sourceop".

Ant_8490
Oct 03, 2010, 05:17 PM
e_kill is now working on my test server (windows 7) now that lua is enabled.

But changing the vdf on the XP server didn't work. Still not loading. Even tried it on a clean install of srcds (no other addons).

Drunken F00l
Oct 03, 2010, 05:21 PM
Give me a few minutes and I will try it on my Windows XP machine.

In the meantime, you can try this:
http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/en/details.aspx?FamilyID=A7B7A05E-6DE6-4D3A-A423-37BF0912DB84&displaylang=en

But I don't think you should need it.

Drunken F00l
Oct 03, 2010, 06:53 PM
Sorry about the delay. I was also fixing other problems.

I have tried it on my Windows XP machine, and it loads fine. Perhaps you installed it incorrectly/differently? Did you try that link I posted? What else might be different about that machine?

Ant_8490
Oct 03, 2010, 06:58 PM
Alright, well that particular machine has always run the 0.9.0 version before the update. Also it does have Microsoft Visual C++ 2010 Redistributable Package on it.

I'll trying installing it again, and see what else could be wrong, but thanks for confirming that the plugin does load fine on XP. But just so I know, did you make the vdf "sourceop" or did u leave it "..\bin\sourceop"?

Drunken F00l
Oct 03, 2010, 08:34 PM
I left it with ..\bin\sourceop

Ant_8490
Oct 03, 2010, 08:51 PM
Got it!
It was Microsoft Visual C++ 2008 Redistributable Package (x86).

Thanks for mentioning the VC++ Packages. Never would have thought of that being the problem.

Great job on the fast update.
Thanks again.

Drunken F00l
Oct 03, 2010, 08:53 PM
Awesome, thanks.